Wyoming to make sex offenders pay for costs of registry

As funds from  a previous federal grant dry up the state of Wyoming is turning to sex offenders to pay the cost of the registry. 

According to a report in the Jackson Hole News & Guide, registrants will have to pay when they register and when they report any changes like a new job, address, or vehicle.  If you’re a registrant, you may want to avoid even visiting the state of Wyoming.

“Say we get a tourist come in from out of town who isn’t currently registered in Wyoming,” Teton County Sheriff’s Sgt. Todd Stanyon said. “It’s going to cost them $150 bucks to register with us for initial registration. Say they stay for two weeks. Then when they deregister to tell us they’re leaving, they’re going to have to pay the $31.25.” 

To be fair, the sheriff doesn’t seem sold on the merits of the new law.

“I think the bureaucracy it created is going to exceed the benefit of the money,” Stanyon said. “It makes it tough on everybody.” 

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s